Brian Mylar's Americana Music Blog: Reckless Kelly


SAN ANTONIO - There was a packed house at Floore’s Country Store in Helotes recently for a concert by Austin-based Reckless Kelly, an Americana band with deep family credentials

Brothers Willy and Cody Braun lead the band, hot off their recent release Good Luck and True Love, while another brother, Micky Braun, fronts the band Micky and the Motorcars. Both bands rock and swing with an Americana beat and you can hear them at venues around the San Antonio area.

To view a slideshow from the Reckless Kelly performance, click here.

Reckless Kelly is billed as country and rock and they are all that and everything in between.

My personal favorite song is “Seven Nights in Eire,” about a group of men and their seven-night trip to Ireland. The fiddle playing on that tune really creates a Celtic kind of mood.

I also love “Hold the Bottle, You hold the Wheel” and “Idaho Cowboy.” This band has great lyrics, puts on a great show and has songs you can really sing along with.

The band is currently listed as:

  • Willy Braun - Vocals and Guitar

  • Cody Braun- Vocals/multi-instruments

  • Jay Nazz - Drums

  • David Abeyta - Guitar

  • Chris Schelske – BassTheir list of albums includes:

Somewhere In Time (2009), Bulletproof (July 2008), Reckless Kelly Was Here (2006), Wicked Twisted Road (2005), Under The Table And Above The Sun (2003), The Day (2000), Acoustic: Live at Stubbs (2000), Millican (1997).

You can check out more on the band at:

Here’s a tidbit from the biography on their website:

"For fifteen years, Reckless Kelly has been doing things their way, bucking the mainstream system and playing by their own rules, straddling the fence between country and rock as if they built it themselves. Throughout the years their old school approach to recording has always adhered to one main objective: make each record better than the last. Their latest effort, “Good Luck & True Love” is no exception to this rule.

"Recorded in an old farmhouse-turned studio in Austin Texas, and released on the bands new independent label “No Big Deal Records,” “Good Luck & True Love” is pure, driving, uncut Reckless Kelly. The songs are all written or co-written by front man Willy Braun and range in subject matter from road songs, (“Weatherbeaten Soul,” “Hit The Ground Running”) to songs about music, (“New Moon Over Nashville,” “I Stayed Up All Night Again”) and songs about good old-fashioned heartbreak (“Guarded Heart,” “She Likes Money, He Likes Love,” and “I Never Liked St. Valentine”). The album is the 9th in RK’s ever-growing catalogue and is the 3rd they have produced by themselves.

"The Reckless boys also made it a point to track almost all of it live. Just 5 guys sitting in a room playing music, with minimal overdubs and aside from a harmony vocal from Dani Flowers, the band plays each and every instrument and part. “We wanted to make a record that sounded like we sound live, without any extra parts thrown in. We wanted it to sound like a band,” said fiddle/mandolin player Cody Braun. “Keeping it all in the same space and making sure it was an album rather than just a collection of songs was the main goal, and I think we came pretty close to what we set out to do…there’s a lot of continuity within this project.” The result is an album that encompasses the last 15 years of Reckless Kelly. Ten new songs that capture the essence of a road worn and battle scarred band of brothers that aren’t afraid to take risks and tell it like it is. That’s country rock. That’s old school. That’s Reckless Kelly."

In short, what a great band! Go see them and ‘Micky and the Motorcars’ for a great time with some great Americana music.

To view a slideshow from the Reckless Kelly performance, click here.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms.
blog comments powered by Disqus