Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel wins Davey O'Brien quar­terback award

Manziel becomes first freshman to win award


LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. - Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel has become the first freshman to win the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The award was presented Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards show.

Manziel beat out fellow finalists Collin Klein of Kansas State and Braxton Miller from Ohio State. The former QB of Kerrville Tivy led the Aggies to a 10-2 record and Cotton Bowl berth.

Manziel passed for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns and posted a Southeastern Conference-record 4,600 yards of total offense on his way to his unanimous selection for Associated Press SEC offensive player of the year. 

The QB known by the nickname Johnny Football is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms.
blog comments powered by Disqus