Texas concealed handgun classes could shorten
Texas lawmakers look at cutting CHL classes from 10 to 4 hours
SAN ANTONIO - Texas lawmakers are looking at a proposed bill that aims to shorten the amount of time required to obtain a concealed handgun license.
The Senate Criminal Justice Committee discussed the bill that would shorten the CHL classes to 4 to 6 hours. The current law requires a minimum of 10 hours to complete the course but some can go as long as 15 hours.
The bill, introduced by freshman Republican Senator Donna Campbell of New Braunfels, was met with little opposition. Campbell described her bill as a defense of the Second Amendment.
Gun safety instructors are also supportive of the bill. Many feel the current class is too long.
"I think a minimum of 10 hours is a long class," said Jerry McCall, a former CHL instructor. "There's a lot of dry areas that I think could be trimmed down and made more efficient and still get the same point across."
McCall, who also owns two gun shops and a shooting range, taught the CHL class for 7 years. He said he's seen interest in the classes spike along with the boom in gun sales since last December.
"Our classes have tripled in size," McCall said. "It's quite evident that people are concerned the same way with the shortage of the ammo and the AR-style weapons. People are very concerned."
While the bill would shorten the classes, the same information would still be covered, including dispute resolution, gun safety and proper storage. Applicants would also still have to pass a shooting test.
Gun owners are supportive of the bill. "As long as it's an equal amount of training and you're going to come out with the same proficiency as the longer class, I don't see why not," said Jonathan Cubriel.
Copyright 2013 by KSAT.com All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.