Texas Senators play 'lottery' for terms

Lawmakers draw to determine length of term


There was no rolling of the dice or even drawing of straws, but Texas Senators played a lottery of sorts Wednesday when they drew lots to determine how long their terms would last.

The move is required by Texas law after the district boundaries are changed as they were in the 2010 legislative session.

Senators Carlos Uresti and Leticia Van de Putte will each serve a four-year term.

"In the political equivalent of a first-round bye, my term will extend until 2016," Uresti said. "But I will continue to let the constituents of Senate District 19 know where I stand on the issues. Election or not, I will always be accountable to the voters."

Other State Senators who drew four-year terms:

  • Brian Birdwell, (R) Granbury
  • Robert Duncan, (R)Lubbock
  • Rodney Ellis, (D) Houston
  • Kevin Eltife, (R)Tyler
  • Troy Fraser, (R)Horseshoe Bay
  • Glenn Hegar, (R)Katy
  • Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, (D) McAllen
  • Eddie Lucio, Jr., (D) Brownsville
  • Jane Nelson, (R) Flower Mound
  • Jose Rodriguez, (D) El Paso
  • Larry Taylor, (R) Friendswood
  • Tommy Williams, (R) The Woodlands
  • and Judith Zaffirini, (D) Laredo.

 State Senators serving two-year terms include:

  • Donna Campbell, (R) New Braunfels
  • John Carona, (R) Dallas
  • Wendy Davis, (D) Fort Worth
  • Bob Deuell, (R) Greenville
  • Craig Estes, (R) Wichita Falls
  • Kelly Hancock, (R) North Richland Hills
  • Joan Huffman, (R) Southside Place
  • Robert Nichols, (R) Jacksonville
  • Dan Patrick, (R) Houston
  • Ken Paxton, (R) McKinney
  • Charles Schwertner, (R) Georgetown
  • Kel Seliger, (R) Amarillo
  • Kirk Watson, (D) Austin
  • Royce West, (D) Dallas
  • John Whitmire, (D) Houston.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms.
blog comments powered by Disqus