Texas Medal of Arts Awards honorees announced

Recipients include 2 native San Antonians

Headline Goes Here

SAN ANTONIO - The 2017 Texas Medal of Arts Awards honorees were announced Tuesday morning at the Tobin Center.

The awards honor a variety of artistic talents across Texas, including singer-songwriters Kris Kristofferson and Kenny Rogers – and actress Jaclyn Smith.

Other award recipients include two native San Antonians: author John Phillip Santos and journalist Scott Pelley.

“The Texas Medal of Arts Awards (are) modeled after the Kennedy Center Honors, but with a Texas flavor and a Texas flair,” said Jennifer Ransom Rice, executive director of the Texas Cultural Trust . "(It's) even more meaningful this year with our San Antonio connection.”

This year’s co-chairs of the awards are San Antonio businessmen Peter Holt and and Guillermo Nicolas.

The awards will be presented Feb. 21 and 22 in Austin.

Copyright 2017 by KSAT - All rights reserved.