San Antonio chosen to host NCAA Final Four in 2018

SAN ANTONIO – San Antonio has been chosen to host the NCAA Final Four tournament in 2018 -- its fourth time as a host city.

The NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee announced Friday afternoon where the 2017-2020 Final Fours are going to be held.

"This is great news and I want to thank the NCAA for selecting San Antonio as a site for the Men's Final Four and confirming that San Antonio is one of the best cities in the nation, if not the best city, for hosting a Final Four," said San Antonio Mayor Ivy Taylor, in a statement.

"We are proud to welcome back the NCAA Men's Final Four to San Antonio. The Alamodome, San Antonio's world-class facility, is already home to UTSA's Roadrunner football and the Valero Alamo Bowl, and with our planned improvements will be the perfect setting for premier sporting events such as the Final Four," said San Antonio City Manager Sheryl Sculley, in a statement.

The full schedule announced Friday is as follows:

  • 2017: Phoenix
  • 2018: San Antonio
  • 2019: Minneapolis
  • 2020: Atlanta
  • 2021: Indianapolis

Members of a bid committee from San Antonio made their final presentation to the NCAA in Indianapolis on Thursday.

The San Antonio Local Organizing Committee that made the presentation included key members of San Antonio Sports, University of Texas at San Antonio, the Convention & Visitors Bureau, Alamodome and the city's Sports & Convention Facilities Department.

San Antonio has hosted a Men's Final Four in 1998, 2004 and 2008.