Bexar voters hit polls today to fill senate, house seats

Leticia Van de Putte's Texas Senate seat, Mike Villareal's Texas House seat up for grabs


AUSTIN, Texas – Bexar County voters will cast ballots Tuesday for candidates looking to fill Leticia Van de Putte's District 26 seat in the Texas Senate and Michael Villarreal's District 123 seat in the Texas House. 

Van de Putte and Villareal will both run for San Antonio mayor. 

Democratic Reps. Trey Martinez Fischer and Jose Menendez square off for the State Senate District 26 seat. Neither candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote in January's special election.  

Democrat Diego Bernal and Republican Nunzio Previtera led the way in the special election for State House District 123 and are on the ballot for the runoff.     

Winners of the special runoff election will serve the remainder of the former legislators' terms. 

Across the state, Brenham Republican Rep. Lois Kolkhorst already moved to the Senate in a previous special election. Two Republicans, Carolyn Bilski and Leighton Schubert, hope to replace her.  

And Republicans John Cyrier and Brent Golemon want to succeed Lexington Republican Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt, who left the House to become general counsel of the Texas Agriculture Department. 

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters are now required to present an approved form of photo identification in order to vote in all Texas Elections.