Animal Welfare Act


SAN ANTONIOWhat is the Animal Welfare Act?

The Animal Welfare Act is the only federal law in the United States that regulates the treatment of animals in research, exhibition, transport and by dealers.

According to the United States Department of Agricultural, the act was signed into law in 1966.

Animals covered under this law include any live or dead warm-blooded animal determined by the Secretary of Agriculture for research, pet use or exhibition.

Animals not covered are birds, lab rats, lab mice, farm animals and all cold blooded animals.