SA mayoral candidates square off in debate tonight

Debate to be held Wednesday night at UTSA's main campus from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.


SAN ANTONIO – Mayoral candidates for the City of San Antonio will square off tonight in a debate sponsored by UTSA.

Former Bexar County Commissioner Tommy Adkisson, Mayor Ivy Taylor, former State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte and former State Rep. Mike Villarreal have confirmed their participation in the forum. 

The candidates are expected to discuss several issues including police and firefighter compensation, gentrification, downtown development, neighborhood preservation, transportation and education. 

Earlier this month, the candidates participated in a forum at Dr. Hector Garcia Middle School where students were given the opportunity to ask questions.

The candidates also participated in a forum at Northwest Vista College. 

Tonight's debate will be held in the ballroom of the UTSA HEB University Center from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. 

The event is free and open to the public. Seating will be available beginning at 6 p.m. on a first-come, first-served basis. Attendees must be seated by 6:45 p.m.  

Parking will be available in the Ximenes Garage located between the H-E-B University Center and the Applied Engineering and Technology Building. Parking rates are $2 per hour. 

The city will hold elections for mayor and City Council on May 9, 2015. All ten council seats are up for election.

About the Author: