Early voting begins for runoff in special election for state representative

(I) Laura Thompson, (D) Lou Miller vying for open seat in District 120


SAN ANTONIO – Early voting began Monday in the special election to fill the state representative District 120 seat that has been vacant since January.

Voters will choose between Independent Laura Thompson and Democrat Lou Miller, who received a combined total of 66 percent of the vote in May.

The May election was held to replace Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon, who served for 19 years. She retired Jan. 31.

The remaining votes were split between Democrats Latronda Darnell, who got about 23 percent of the votes cast, and Chris Dawkins, who got about 15 percent.

Because no candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff was called.

Early voting continues through Friday.

Voters who don't have an ID will be able to cast a vote in the special election, but will first have to fill out an affidavit with their date of birth and the last four digits of their Social Security number.

Election Day is Aug. 2.

Runoff Election Resources: