LIVE: Spriester's Sessions, KSAT 12 Election Coverage Special

KSAT 12 News anchor Steve Spriester hosts an election day edition of "Spriester's Sessions" online from 7 to 9 p.m., when he will visit with various local politicians and political experts from the KSAT 12 newsroom.

Voters in San Antonio headed to the polls Saturday to elect a mayor and members of City Council.

Mayor Ivy Taylor is facing a challenge from 13 candidates, including District 8 Councilman Ron Nirenberg and Bexar County Democratic Chairman Manuel Medina.

Taylor was elected to office in 2015. She was chosen by her City Council colleagues in July 2014 to replace Mayor Julian Castro, who accepted a White House cabinet position. Taylor is the first African American woman to serve as mayor of a city with more than one million people and only the second female mayor of San Antonio. Before becoming mayor, she served on City Council for five years.

Nirenberg was first elected to District 8 in 2013 and was re-elected in 2015.

Medina is currently chairman for the Bexar County Democratic Party and invests in rental properties.

District 1 Councilman Roberto Trevino, District 2 Councilman Alan Warrick, District 3 Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran, District 4 Councilman Rey Saldana, District 5 Councilwoman Shirley Gonzales and District 7 Councilman Cris Median are among six incumbents fighting to stay in office.

Districts 6, 8, 9 and 10 will have new representation.

San Antonio voters will also decide the fate of six bond propositions.

Several municipalities and school districts will also be on the ballot.