Voters to elect SA mayor, City Council members

Polls open Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

SAN ANTONIO – Voters in San Antonio head to the polls Saturday to elect a mayor and members of City Council.

Mayor Ivy Taylor is facing a challenge from 13 candidates, including District 8 Councilman Ron Nirenberg and Bexar County Democratic Chairman Manuel Medina.

Taylor was elected to office in 2015. She was chosen by her City Council colleagues in July 2014 to replace Mayor Julian Castro, who accepted a White House cabinet position. Taylor is the first African American woman to serve as mayor of a city with more than one million people and only the second female mayor of San Antonio. Before becoming mayor, she served on City Council for five years.

Nirenberg was first elected to District 8 in 2013 and was reelected in 2015.

Medina is currently chairman for the Bexar County Democratic Party and invests in rental properties.

District 1 Councilman Roberto Trevino, District 2 Councilman Alan Warrick, District 3 Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran, District 4 Councilman Rey Saldana, District 5 Councilwoman Shirley Gonzales and District 7 Councilman Cris Median are among six incumbents fighting to stay in office.

Districts 6, 8, 9 and 10 will have new representation.

San Antonio voters will also decide the fate of six bond propositions.

Several municipalities and school districts will also be on the ballot.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Sample Ballot

Polling locations by address

Election Day Sites

Be sure to get the latest election results online on KSAT.com and watch for reaction from the candidates on the KSAT 12 News Nightbeat at 10 p.m.

KSAT 12 News anchor Steve Spriester will be hosting an election day edition of "Spriester's Sessions" online from 7 p.m. until about 10 p.m., when he will be talking with local politicians and political experts about the election.

About the Author: