U.S. Military Veterans Parade Association names grand marshals for this year's event

Parade will be held Nov. 10

SAN ANTONIO – The 2018 grand marshals of the United States Military Veterans Parade in San Antonio have been announced.

This year’s grand marshals include World War II and Korean War veteran Command Sgt. Maj. Andrew Reyna, U.S. Army Korean War veteran Arthur Galindo, U.S. Marine Corps veteran Hector A. Lopez and Air Force Brig. Gen. Laura Lenderman, who is the commander of the 502nd Air Base Wing and Joint Base San Antonio.

JBSA is the largest joint base of the U.S. Department of Defense. 

“It’s a whole day of celebrating our veterans. At 10 o’clock, we will have a wreath laying ceremony for all of our deceased veterans,” said Mike Mendez, with the U.S. Military Veterans Parade Association.

The parade will be held Nov. 10 and is free and open to the public.

The 2018 Veterans Parade is dedicated to Mr. Darrel G. Harris. Harris passed away in May 2018 at age 96. He was a WWII Veteran who served 3.5 years in combat operations in Europe. He was assigned to the 504 Parachute Regiment of the 82nd Airborne and made a total of 52 jumps, including six combat jumps. He fought in many of the major battles of WWII, including Operation Market Garden, Battle of the Bulge and the Anzio landing. In 1945, Harris became a charter member of the 82nd Airborne Association. He was also a charter member of the U.S. Military Veterans Parade Association and served faithfully for 19 years until his death. 

USMVPA has sponsored and staged the annual Veterans Parade in downtown San Antonio since November 2000.

For more information, click here.