Medals awarded in women's cycling

The time trial winners earn their medals


Cyclist Kristin Armstrong of the United States won gold by winning her third consecutive Olympic time trial Wednesday.

Armstrong covered the course through driving wind and rain in 44 minutes, 26.42 seconds, beating reigning bronze medalist Olga Zabelinskaya of Russia by just 5.55 seconds, The Associated Press reported.

Anna van der Breggen of the Netherlands added a bronze medal to her gold from the road race.

Dutch rider Ellen van Dijk slid off the course, likely costing her a medal. She finished fourth.