Arkansas State University chancellor sole finalist for Texas State University president

Kelly Damphousse will serve as the next Texas State University President after he was named sole finalist for the position. (Contributed photo, KSAT)

JONESBORO, Ark. – The chancellor of Arkansas State University announced Thursday that he’s resigning after being named the sole finalist to become president of Texas State University.

Arkansas State said Chancellor Kelly Damphousse's resignation will take effect June 30. Damphousse is the only finalist to replace Denise Trauth as president of Texas State in San Marcos.

Trauth is retiring on June 30.

Damphousse, who was dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Oklahoma, was appointed ASU's chancellor in July 2017.

“Dr. Damphousse is a respected university and community leader who possesses the knowledge, experience and passion to lead Texas State to new levels of achievement and success,” said Texas State University System Chancellor Brian McCall. “I sincerely thank the advisory search committee, including TSUS Regents Don Flores, Charlie Amato, Garry Crain and Nikki Harle for their time, energy and deliberation during the search process.” Regents Flores, Crain and Harle are Texas State University alumni.

He was the 13th chief executive of the institution since it was founded in 1909.

Damphousse was appointed in December to the NCAA Board of Governors and also serves as president of the Sun Belt Conference.

Chuck Welch, president of the ASU system, said he would meet with university constituency groups to determine next steps.

No decisions have been made regarding a possible interim appointment or a search process, the university said in a news release.