San Antonio’s rebooted XFL team announces its new name

Brahmas to begin play starting Feb. 18, 2023

San Antonio's rebooted XFL team announces its team name (KSAT)

SAN ANTONIO – The rebooted XFL on Monday announced the new name and logo for the San Antonio franchise, along with the other seven teams that will begin play in February.

The San Antonio Brahmas and the XFL will start games on Feb. 18, 2023, less than a week after Super Bowl LVII.

Recommended Videos

The twice-failed football league is now returning under new ownership. In August 2020, Dwayne Johnson, his business partner and ex-wife Dany Garcia, and RedBird Capital Partners purchased the XFL for $15 million.

The league’s announcement comes almost three years after the league suspended its season during the COVID-19 pandemic and then eventually declared bankruptcy.

San Antonio was the only city to have a new name announced Monday. Hall of Fame Steelers wide receiver Hines Ward will lead San Antonio, former Dallas Cowboys head coach Wade Phillips will head Houston and former Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops will take charge of Arlington.

ESPN reports that a player draft is scheduled for next month and that the teams will practice in and around Arlington, but play in their local cities.

The games will be shown on either ESPN or a Disney platform, ESPN said.

The eight teams announced are:

  • Arlington Renegades
  • D.C. Defenders
  • Houston Roughnecks
  • Orlando Guardians
  • San Antonio Brahmas
  • Seattle Sea Dragons
  • St. Louis Battlehawks
  • Vegas Vipers


About the Author

Ben Spicer is a digital journalist who works the early morning shift for KSAT.

Recommended Videos