Calvert wins race for County Commissioner Pct. 4

Tommy Calvert replaces Tommy Adkisson, who ran for county judge

BEXAR COUNTY, Texas – Democrat Tommy Calvert defeated Republican Timothy Wilson Tuesday night to win the race for Bexar County Commissioner of Precinct 4.

Calvert will succeed Tommy Adkisson, who held the seat for more than 15 years, but ran for county judge. Calvert won the Democratic nomination over Debra Guerrero earlier this year.

"I'm fighting for a fair share of streets and drainage, restaurants and shopping that our precinct hasn't been getting," Calvert said after winning his party's nomination.

Calvert has been active in politics for years. He says the murder of Ruth Clay around Christmas time is one of the reasons he ran for commissioner. He used to take her to the polls to vote.

Wilson served on the Kirby City Council for seven years and has been the mayor there for the last two years.

In the race for Precinct 2 County Commissioner, longtime Democratic incumbent Paul Elizondo easily won re-election over Libertarian Annette Anderson.