More than 30 craft brewers will be featured at Boerne BierFest this September

Celebrate at Boerne BierFest with stein-holding and keg toss competitions

The 5th Annual Boerne BierFest on Sept. 24 will bring Texas’ top craft brewers and local artists to Boerne's AgriCultural Museum & Arts Center,102 City Park Rd., for an amazing day of beer, competitions, music and more.

BOERNE, Texas – Some of Texas’ top craft brewers will meet up for a day of drinking, dancing and fun at Boerne BierFest.

The 5th annual Boerne BierFest will take place from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Sept. 24 at the Boerne AgriCultural Museum & Arts Center, located at 102 City Park Road.

Guests can sample more than 30 brews from local and regional craft breweries.

There will be live music, stein-holding and keg toss competitions in addition to original art displays.

Masskrugstemmen is the festival’s most popular event. It requires participants to hold a regulation beer stein filled with a liter of beer, which weighs roughly 5.5 pounds.

Steins must be held out from the body, parallel to the floor for as long as possible. Rest your arm on your chest, or break any other rule, and you get a strike. Three strikes and you’re eliminated. If you spill your beer you’re automatically eliminated.

National Maskrugstemmen champions Jason Hurta (2014) and Deryk Lindsay (2016) will be on hand hosting and judging the competition.

Also popular is the keg toss and Homebrew Competition, where home brewers enter their craft beer to be judged for a chance to win the coveted WWE-esque “Beer Belt,” according to a press release.

Food trucks will also be on-site to serve up tasty treats for guests of all ages.

Tickets are $30 per person in advance and $35 at the door. Anyone under the age of 21 is free if they attend with a paying adult.


About the Author:

Mary Claire Patton has been a journalist with KSAT 12 since 2015. She has reported on several high-profile stories during her career at KSAT and specializes in trending news and things to do around Texas and San Antonio.