XFL, USFL announce intent to merge

Future of San Antonio Brahmas not known

Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson is an owner of the XFL. (KSAT 2023)

SAN ANTONIO – The United States Football League and the XFL announced Thursday that the two spring football leagues plan to merge into one.

According to a news release, if the merger is approved, “the new league will establish best-in-class operations based on the most recent seasons of both leagues. This historic combination will anchor professional spring football with substantial capabilities and resources to ensure future growth and continue to enhance the development of the collective players, coaches, and staff that are coming together.”

More details about the new league will be announced at a later date.

The San Antonio Brahmas are one of eight teams in the XFL. In its inaugural season, the Brahmas posted a 3-7 record.

According to the team’s website, tickets are still being sold for the 2024 season. San Antonio had the second-highest XFL home attendance and also hosted the XFL Championship.

Other teams in the XFL include Arlington, Houston, Las Vegas, Orlando, Seattle, St. Louis, and Washington D.C. The XFL is owned by Dany Garcia, Dwayne Johnson, and Gerry Cardinale’s RedBird Capital Partners was purchased for $15 million after the league suspended its previous season during the COVID-19 pandemic and declared bankruptcy. The league launched in February 2023.

The USFL, which has been in operation for two seasons, has teams in Houston, Birmingham, Memphis, Michigan, New Jersey, New Orleans and Philadelphia. Former NFL Dallas Cowboys player and current FOX NFL analyst Daryl Johnston is President of Football Operations.

KaVontae Turpin, a current wide receiver and return specialist for the Dallas Cowboys was a former USFL star and all-league player. He made the NFL’s Pro Bowl in 2022.

About the Author:

David Ibañez has been managing editor of KSAT.com since the website's launch in October 2000.