Bernal, Menendez win in runoff election

Leticia Van de Putte's Texas Senate seat, Mike Villareal's Texas House seat filled in special election

SAN ANTONIO – Former San Antonio City Councilman Diego Bernal and State Rep. Jose Menendez, both Democrats, won their respective runoff elections Tuesday night.

Bernal defeated Nunzio Previtera to take the vacant House District 123 seat abandoned by current San Antonio Mayoral candidate Mike Villarreal in 2014.

Menendez bested fellow statehouse colleague Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer for the District 26 seat in the Texas Senate. The seat was formerly held by Leticia Van de Putte, who is also running for San Antonio mayor.

Winners of the special runoff election will serve the remainder of the former legislators' terms.

Tuesday's runoff was the eighth election in less than 12 months in Bexar County.

Texas Democratic Party Chairman Gilberto Hinojosa issued the following statements Tuesday evening:

"We congratulate newly-elected state representative, Diego Bernal, on his victory and a well-run campaign. Bernal will be a voice in the Legislature for the people of San Antonio, and will fight for good schools for our kids, and for opportunity and prosperity for all Texans. We look forward to working with him.

"The people of Senate District 26 have elected José Menéndez as their new senator --  a strong, hardworking steward who is ready to fight for all San Antonians in the Senate. As a State Representative, José Menéndez devoted his time in office to expanding opportunity for all Texans. Now more than ever, we need Senator-Elect José Menéndez's leadership and courage in the Senate chambers.

"After tonight's victories, the Texas Democratic Party, along with our legislators, stand united, and reaffirm our commitment to keep fighting on behalf of everyday Texans."

Click here to view the county's election results.