San Antonio will host NCAA Women's Final Four in 2021


SAN ANTONIO – The NCAA on Monday announced San Antonio will host the Women's Final Four in 2021.

The NCAA announced the Women's Final Four host cities for 2021 through 2024.

The following cities were awarded the opportunity to host the Women's Final Four:

  • 2021: San Antonio
  • 2022: Minneapolis
  • 2023: Dallas
  • 2024: Cleveland

San Antonio's bid committee went to Tampa, Florida earlier this month to enter for consideration to host the NCAA Women's Final Four in 2021.

“This is great news. San Antonio is a fan favorite, and our upgrades to the Alamodome are paying off in a big way," said Mayor Ron Nirenberg. "The dome will be even better in 2021 than it was the last two times we hosted the Women’s Final Four.

“Kudos to the San Antonio Local Organizing Committee. We have gained momentum as a host for premier basketball events. San Antonio is on a roll.”  

Eight other cities, including Dallas; Houston; Cleveland; Indianapolis; Kansas City, Missouri; Minneapolis and Nashville were also in contention to host a Women's Final Four during 2021-2024.

The city previously hosted the Women's Final Four tournament in 2002 and 2010 and maintains the record for largest attendance, 29,619, at a Women's Final Four at the Alamodome in 2002.

San Antonio has also previously hosted the Men's Final Four tournament in 1998, 2004, 2008 and 2018. The city will host a fifth Men's Final Four tournament in 2025.