Alliance of American Football names San Antonio's newest pro football team

New league unveils logos, names and colors Tuesday morning


SAN ANTONIO – The Alliance of American Football officially announced on Tuesday that San Antonio's team will be called the San Antonio Commanders.

The new football league unveiled the names, logos and color packages of its four western division teams. The Alliance West will be comprised of the Arizona Hotshots, Salt Lake Stallions, San Antonio Commanders and San Diego Fleet, a press release said.


“Last week we proudly released the names and logo packages of our Alliance East teams and the reception was absolutely electric across all four markets. We strongly believe that was due to the fans playing such a critical role in the selection process and working with each city to understand their suggestions and ideas,” said Charlie Ebersol, founder and CEO, The Alliance. “Today we release the names and logos of our Alliance West teams with enthusiasm and pride as we give our final four teams their identity within our league. I can't wait to start seeing fans wearing their team colors and joining our Alliance.” 


The league explained the decision for San Antonio's team name with the following statement:

For over 300 years, San Antonio has had a constant military presence with one of the nation’s largest active and retired military populations in the United States. The San Antonio Commanders honor the heroic leaders in the United States Air Force and United States Army who have dedicated their lives to service and sacrifice for this great country. The team colors feature maroon, a color used in the official city logo, silver, in reference to dress military swords carried by officers, and the familiar red of the Texas state flag. The shape of the logo is representative of a military patch and includes a depiction of the Alamo, a profound symbol for the city of San Antonio. The single star is a nod to the Lone Star state. The Commanders will make Military City, USA proud through teamwork, resolve, innovation, sacrifice and results. 

The Alliance of American Football has eight teams with 52-player rosters playing a 10-week regular season beginning on Feb. 9, 2019. 

The season will be followed by two playoff rounds and ending with a championship game the weekend of April 26-28, 2019.

The Commanders will play their games in the Alamodome and will be coached by Mike Riley.

About the Author: