CROSBY, Texas – A newborn baby girl was dropped off at the front door of a fire station in Crosby, Texas, around 3:30 a.m. Monday, according to a report from KTRK.
The article states that an anonymous woman called 911 saying she left a baby, who is believed to have been born just 2 hours before she was dropped off, outside the station located at 2500 US-90 in unincorporated east Harris County.
The Safe Haven law, also known as the Baby Moses law, gives parents who are unable to care for their child a safe and legal choice to leave their infant with an employee at a hospital, fire station, free-standing emergency center, or emergency medical services station.
New born baby girl left at this Crosby Fire dept. overnight.— Jeff Ehling (@JeffEhlingABC13) June 1, 2020
Tip caller let officials know the little girl was here. She is just hours old and in good shape at a near by hospital.#abc13 pic.twitter.com/lrO1G377S0
The girl was taken to the hospital and is in good condition, KTRK reported.
If you’re thinking about bringing your baby to a designated Safe Haven, please read the information below from Texas Department of Family and Protective Services:
- Your baby must be 60 days old or younger and unharmed and safe.
- You may take your baby to any hospital, fire station, or emergency medical services (EMS) station in Texas.
- You need to give your baby to an employee who works at one of these safe places and tell this person that you want to leave your baby at a Safe Haven.
- You may be asked by an employee for family or medical history to make sure that your baby receives the care they need.