Key 2022 election dates, deadlines voters need to know about in Texas

2022 is a midterm election year

2022 Election Dates in Texas. (KSAT)

Get more election news on KSAT’s Vote 2022 page.

Voters will head to the polls during this 2022 midterm election year to elect representatives from the county level all the way up to U.S. Congress.

The first chance to weigh in on those races comes with the March primary election and culminates with the General Election in November.

Here are all of the important dates and deadlines that voters need to know about for 2022:

Dates & Deadlines for March 1, 2022 Primary

  • Monday, Jan. 31 - Last day to register to vote
  • Monday, February 14 - First day of early voting
  • Friday, February 18 - Last day to apply for ballot by mail (Must be received, not postmarked by this date.)
  • Friday, February 25 - Last day of early voting
  • Tuesday, March 1 - Election Day. Absentee/mail-in ballots must be be postmarked or delivered by hand by 7 p.m. Ballots from overseas voters must be received by the 5th day after Election Day. Ballots from members of the armed forces must be received by the 6th day after election day.

Dates & Deadlines for May 7, 2022 - Local/County Elections and State Constitutional Amendment Election

  • Thursday, April 7 - Last day to register to vote
  • Monday, April 25 - First day of early voting
  • Tuesday, April 26 - Last day to apply for ballot by mail (Must be received, not postmarked by this date.)
  • Tuesday, May 3 - Last day of early voting
  • Saturday, May 7 - Election Day. Absentee/mail-in ballots must be be postmarked or delivered by hand by 7 p.m. Ballots from overseas voters must be received by the 5th day after Election Day. Ballots from members of the armed forces must be received by the 6th day after election day.

Dates & Deadlines for May 24, 2022 - Primary Runoff Election

  • Monday, April 25 - Last day to register to vote
  • Friday, May 13 - Last day to apply for ballot by mail (Must be received, not postmarked by this date.)
  • Monday, May 16 - First day of early voting
  • Friday, May 20 - Last day of early voting
  • Tuesday, May 24 - Runoff Election Day. Absentee/mail-in ballots must be be postmarked or delivered by hand by 7 p.m. Ballots from overseas voters must be received by the 5th day after Election Day. Ballots from members of the armed forces must be received by the 6th day after election day.

Dates & Deadlines for Tuesday, November 8, 2022 General Election

  • Tuesday, October 11 - Last day to register to vote
  • Monday, October 24 - First day of early voting
  • Friday, October 28 - Last day to apply for ballot by mail (Must be received, not postmarked by this date.)
  • Friday, November 4 - Last day of early voting
  • Tuesday, November 8 - Election Day. Absentee/mail-in ballots must be be postmarked or delivered by hand by 7 p.m. Ballots from overseas voters must be received by the 5th day after Election Day. Ballots from members of the armed forces must be received by the 6th day after election day.

Read more on KSAT’s Vote 22 page


About the Author:

Julie Moreno has worked in local television news for more than 20 years. She came to KSAT as a news producer in 2000. After producing thousands of newscasts, she transitioned to the digital team in 2015. She writes on a wide variety of topics from breaking news to trending stories and manages KSAT’s daily digital content strategy.