Enforcement of ‘Don't block the box' begins at 10 locations across San Antonio

Intersection in each district part of pilot program

Photo does not have a caption

SAN ANTONIO – San Antonio police began enforcing the city’s pilot program “Don’t block the box” Monday.

The enforcement will last through the end of May.

Signs are posted at each intersection reminding drivers to not block the roadway preventing other people driving, walking, or biking from being able to cross the road.

RELATED: City councilman pushing for pedestrian safety changes

The intersections are listed below:

District 1: Euclid Avenue at San Pedro Ave.

District 2: Houston Street at W.W. White Road

District 3: Logwood at S.W. Military Highway

District 4: Springvale Drive at Valley-Hi Drive

District 5: Commerce Street at Zarzamora Street

District 6: Culebra Road at Westwood Loop

District 7: Fredericksburg Road at Woodlake Drive

District 8: Huebner Road at Fredericksburg Road

District 9: Silver Sands Drive at West Avenue

District 10: Bulverde Road at Autry Pond and Classen Road

The program will be reevaluated every six months, so city staff can measure its effectiveness.

The program part of city’s Vision Zero initiative, which aims to achieve no fatalities on city roads.