These countries have banned U.S. travelers due to the coronavirus pandemic

COVID-19 has caused travel bans worldwide

Woman Walking on Pathway While Strolling Luggage
Woman Walking on Pathway While Strolling Luggage (Pexels)

Despite the global coronavirus pandemic and multiple advisories from state and government officials, people are still wondering if they can travel to certain countries from the U.S.

The answer, in most cases, is - it’s complicated.

Guidelines for allowing U.S. travelers vary by country and are subject to change at any time depending on the country.

Almost all 27 countries that comprise the European Union are currently not allowing U.S. travelers, with the exception of Croatia.

European citizens and family members, long-term EU residents and family members as well as travelers with an “essential function or need,” are exempt from the travel ban for European countries, according to the European Council.

Each country has specifics about what is deemed essential travel and whether or not a U.S. citizen qualifies.

In some cases, including Canada, an immediate family member of a Canadian citizen or permanent resident will be allowed to travel to the country.

The following counties have placed travel restrictions on incoming U.S. travelers:

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. The Bahamas (Grand Bahama)
  4. Belgium
  5. Botswana
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Canada
  8. China
  9. Cyprus
  10. Czech
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. India
  20. Italy
  21. Japan
  22. Latvia
  23. Lithuania
  24. Luxembourg
  25. Malta
  26. Mozambique
  27. Netherlands
  28. New Zealand
  29. Poland
  30. Portugal
  31. Romania
  32. Russia
  33. Slovakia
  34. Slovenia
  35. South Africa
  36. Spain
  37. Sweden
  38. Uganda
  39. Zimbabwe

Jamaica, a country with an economy that depends on tourism, is still allowing U.S. travelers but anyone heading to the island from Arizona, Florida, New York and Texas is required to provide a negative COVID-19 test within 10 days of arrival.

Wondering about who can travel to the United States? Click here to see which travelers are currently prohibited from entering the U.S., according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Related Headlines:

Texas company looks to unload 42 excess tons of airline nuts

Airline CEO: If you insist on not wearing a mask, we’ll insist you not fly with us -- from here on out

Planning a trip? 12 states require Texans to quarantine due to COVID-19 concerns

About the Author: