Names of New Braunfels church bus crash victims released

Victims attended First Baptist Church in New Braunfels

SAN ANTONIO – The Texas Department of Public Safety on Thursday released the names of the victims killed and injured in a church bus crash near Garner State Park.

Related: Churchgoers mourn deaths of people killed in bus crash in Uvalde County

Related: New Braunfels church members involved in fatal Uvalde County crash

Related: Multiple fatalities reported in crash near Garner State Park

The deceased are:

Murray William Barrett, 67, of New Braunfels

Howard Bryan Allen, 81, of New Braunfels

Rhonda Barlow Allen, 61, of New Braunfels

Harold Boyd Barber, 87, of New Braunfels

Margaret Robinson Barber, 82, of New Braunfels

Cristie Clare Moore, 68, of Cibolo

Donna Elizabeth Hawkins, 69, of Schertz

Avis Scholl Banks, 83, of Austin

Mildred Goodlett Rosamond, 87, of New Braunfels

Addie Maurine Schmeltekopf, 84, of New Braunfels (died At University Hospital In San Antonio)

Sue Wynn Tysdal, 76, of New Braunfels

Martha Holcomb Walker, 84, of New Braunfels

Dorothy Fern Vulliet, 84, of New Braunfels

Injured passenger:

Rose Mary Harris, 64, of New Braunfels. (Airlifted To SAMMC Hospital in San Antonio in critical condition)


The wreck happened about 12:30 p.m. Wednesday outside Garner State Park in northern Uvalde County, about 75 miles west of San Antonio.

The cause of the collision isn't immediately known.

DPS officials said U.S. Highway 82 was opened to traffic at about 12:28 a.m. Thursday.

The investigation will continue and NTSB personnel are scheduled to arrive Thursday morning to begin the federal investigation with the assistance of DPS personnel.



Don't miss a thing. Get email alerts from KSAT12 today.
Get alerted to news events as they happen or sign up for a scheduled news headline email that is delivered right to your inbox. Breaking news, severe weather, daily forecasts, entertainment news, all of the day’s important events to keep you up to date wherever you are.

Sign up today. It's Free.

About the Author: