Boerne ISD board announces names of 3 schools built by 2016 bond

Schools: Van Raub Elementary, Herff Elementary, Voss Middle School


BOERNE, Tx – The Boerne Independent School District Board of Trustees on Wednesday announced the names of the three schools being built in the district as a result of a 2016 bond.

Van Raub Elementary School, located in the 8700 block of Dietz Elkhorn Road, is being constructed on a 19-acre tract. The old Van Raub community schoolhouse, owned by Boerne ISD, sits on an adjacent property and will be incorporated into the overall site plan of the new campus. Options for its use continue to be discussed. 

Van Raub Elementary School will open Fall 2018.

Dr. Ferdinand L. Herff Elementary School also is being built and will be located in the Esperanza subdivision off of Highway 46 East and is scheduled to open in Fall 2019.

Herff Elementary School is named after a prominent San Antonio physician whose family had land interests in Kendall County and whose influence on Boerne and the surrounding area is significant.

The new middle school, named Capt. Mark Tyler Voss Middle School, is being built on district property at the corner of Highway 46 East and FM 3351, on land very near Tyler's boyhood home. The school is scheduled to open in Fall 2019 as well.

Voss Middle School is named for the Kendall County native son and U.S. Air Force officer who died in Kyrgyzstan. He was part of the 93rd Air Refueling Squadron supporting Operation Enduring Freedom.

About the Author: