UTSA celebrates C-USA title with Rowdy River Rally

Frank Harris named C-USA Most Valuable Player, Jeff Traylor named C-USA Coach of Year

SAN ANTONIO – UTSA celebrated its C-USA Conference championship with a river parade on Friday night before heading to Orlando for the Duluth Trading Cure Bowl next week.

The Roadrunners are back-to-back conference champions with a 48-27 domination over North Texas in the championship game last Friday.

The Rowdy River Rally was held Friday at the Arneson River Theater.

There is plenty to celebrate. In addition to the conference title, UTSA has racked up a number of honors this week.

On Tuesday, it was announced that the Roadrunners reeled in 27 all-conference certificates and three C-USA All-Freshman Team selections.

On Wednesday, C-USA named quarterback Frank Harris Most Valuable Player, Kevorian Barnes was named C-USA Freshman of the Year and Jeff Traylor was C-USA Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.

UTSA is ranked No. 25 and will face off against No. 24 Troy for the Cure Bowl at 2 p.m. on Dec. 16. It’s the fourth bowl-game appearance in program history. UTSA has a 0-3 record in their previous appearances.


About the Author:

Julie Moreno has worked in local television news for more than 25 years. She came to KSAT as a news producer in 2000. After producing thousands of newscasts, she transitioned to the digital team in 2015. She writes on a wide variety of topics from breaking news to trending stories and manages KSAT’s daily digital content strategy.