Meet your 2017 Texas lawmakers

Learn about the bills they want to file


SAN ANTONIO – The 85th Texas Legislature convenes Tuesday, Jan. 10, and lawmakers under the dome in Austin have already filed hundreds of bills they want to tackle during the 140-day gathering.

Below are the 14 San Antonio and Bexar County-area lawmakers. Click on their picture to see a list of bills they are working on, where the potential legislation may be in the process, and find out what the lawmaker is doing to get their bill to the floor, where it might get approved to make its way to the governor's desk. There are many opportunities for the legislation to die, as well. All of that information will be found in this interactive guide to the 2017 Texas legislative session.

Click Here to see Texas House Representatives

Click Here to see Texas State Senators


Texas House Representatives

Diana Arevalo (D-District 116)


Philip Cortez (D-District 117) 

Tomas Uresti (D-District 118)


Roland Gutierrez (D-District 119)

Barbara Gervin-Hawkins (D-District 120)


Speaker Joe Straus (R-District 121)

Lyle Larsen (R-District 122)


Diego Bernal (D-District 123)   

Ina Minjarez (D-District 124)

Justin Rodriguez (D-District 125)

Below is a map of the districts represented by the House members above:

Texas State Senators

Carlos Uresti (D-District 19)

Map of district


Judith Zaffirini (D-District 21)

Map of district


Donna Campbell (R-District 25)

Map of district


Jose Menendez (D-District 26)

Map of district