Special election Tuesday to decide open state Rep. seat in San Antonio, Bexar County

5 candidates vying to fill the seat of former state Rep. Leo Pacheco of San Antonio

State Representative District 118 Candidates: Katie Farias, Desi Martinez, Frank Ramirez, John Lujan and Adam Salyer. The winner will replace Rep. Leo Pacheco (KSAT)

SAN ANTONIO – Voters in southern and eastern parts of Bexar County will be headed to the polls Tuesday for a special election to fill the seat of former state Rep. Leo Pacheco of San Antonio. Find out whether you live in House District 118 here.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Results will be posted on KSAT.com when early voting returns are released around 7 p.m.

Recommended Videos

Pacheco, a Democrat, gave up his seat in the Texas Legislature last month to take a job at San Antonio College. The district has traditionally been friendly territory for Democrats, though Republicans have set their sights on it as they try to make South Texas a new battleground in 2022. Special elections often have lower turnout, making the outcome harder to forecast and often being advantageous for underdogs.


Five candidates have filed with the Texas Secretary of State’s Office for the election.

  • Democrat Katie Farias, a member of the Southside Independent School District Board of Managers
  • Republican John Lujan, former HD-118 representative
  • Democrat Desi Martinez, prominent trial attorney
  • Democrat Frank Ramirez, former zoning and planning director for the city of San Antonio
  • Republican Adam Salyer, the 2020 GOP nominee for the seat

Pacheco has endorsed Ramirez to fill the seat, as have Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff, San Antonio City Councilwoman Adriana Rocha Garcia and San Antonio City Councilman Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, according to the Texas Tribune.

Where To Vote

There will be 30 voting centers for eligible voters to cast a ballot. Please see the list below for your nearest location.

You can also search for a voting center by clicking here.

The district

District 118 covers the southern and eastern parts of Bexar County.

Find more coverage of the 2021 election here.

About the Author:

David Ibañez has been managing editor of KSAT.com since the website's launch in October 2000.