After siege on US Capitol, 16 Texan members of Congress still objected election certification

Objectors include Sen. Ted Cruz and some of President Donald Trump’s staunchest supporters

Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, speaks at a campaign rally for Sen. Kelly Loeffler, R-Ga., on Saturday, Jan. 2, 2021, in Cumming, Ga. (AP Photo/Brynn Anderson) (Brynn Anderson, Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

After a mob of President Donald Trump’s supporters stormed the US Capitol for hours to protest the results of the 2020 election, 16 Texans in Congress still voted to object to the electoral college count based on unsubstantiated fraud claims.

While the effort to overturn the election was already doomed to fail, the rioting that occurred as Congress was beginning to debate the certification led several senators and representatives to drop their objections and vote in favor of the electoral college count.

Recommended Videos

Despite that, more than a dozen representatives from Texas remained opposed to the results, with many continuing to cite Trump’s claims of fraud, which have been disproven.

The most notable Texan on the list is Sen. Ted Cruz, who led the objection on the Senate side with Missouri Sen. Josh Hawley.

Shortly before the electoral college count was certified, Cruz released a statement early Thursday morning saying his objection was “the right thing to do” based on the unfounded concerns over the election.

Now, we must come together and put this anger and division behind us,” Cruz said. The senator said he now expects a peaceful transition into the Biden administration, which Trump committed to in a statement released Thursday morning.

Along with Cruz, these other Texan Republican members of Congress objected to the election results:

  • Jodey Arrington (Lubbock)
  • Brian Babin (Woodville)
  • Michael Burgess (Pilot Point)
  • John Carter (Round Rock)
  • Michael Cloud (Victoria)
  • Pat Fallon (Sherman)
  • Louie Gohmert (Tyler)
  • Lance Gooden (Terrell)
  • Ronny Jackson (Amarillo)
  • Troy Nehls (Richmond)
  • August Pfluger (San Angelo)
  • Pete Sessions (Waco)
  • Randy Weber (Friendswood)
  • Roger Williams (Austin)
  • Ron Wright (Arlington)

Read more:

Woman killed during mob on US Capitol was an Air Force veteran, staunch Trump supporter, reports say

Former Texas congressman calls attacks on US Capitol an ‘attack on our democracy’

Some Texas Republicans decried Capitol insurrection — but didn’t connect the violence to their own rhetoric

Recommended Videos