Railroad Commissioner election results for Texas Primary on March 5, 2024

GOP Incumbent Christi Craddick faces four opponents; 2 candidates seek Democratic nomination

2024 Texas Primary Elections (KSAT)

Local Races that Matter

Read the latest election and political headlines on the Vote 2024 page.

Voters across Texas headed to the polls on Tuesday to decide who they will nominate as Railroad Commissioner in their respective political party.

There are two candidates on the Democratic ballot, including Bill Burch, who is an energy consultant, and Katherine Culbert, who is an engineer.

A crowded field of five candidates are seeking the Republican nomination.

Christi Craddick, the incumbent, has held the position since 2012.

Her opponents include Christie Clark, an attorney; James “Jim” Matlock, who is in the oil and gas industry; Petra Reyes, an oil and gas professional; and Corey Howell.

If there are three or more candidates in a race and none of them win more than 50% of the vote, the top two finishers will advance to a May 28 primary runoff.

Editor’s Note: Ballotpedia contributed to this report.

About the Author

David Ibañez has been managing editor of KSAT.com since the website's launch in October 2000.

Recommended Videos