Gov. Greg Abbott issues disaster declaration for Texas ice storm

Tags: news

Four days after an ice storm left hundreds of thousands of Texans without power, Gov. Greg Abbott issued a disaster declaration for seven counties impacted by the severe weather. Abbott issued the declaration for Denton, Hays, Henderson, Milam, Smith, Travis, and Williamson counties, all of which experienced significant damage over the last week. Abbott said more counties may be added based on damage assessments still in progress, reported the Texas Tribune.